This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Counting of votes begins in four states

The counting of votes in four states has begun with elaborate arrangements made by the Election Commission.

New Delhi: The counting of votes in four states began on Sunday with elaborate arrangements made by the Election Commission.

The counting began at 8 am to decide the fate of Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh where the crucial Assembly Elections took place.

However, in Mizoram, the counting will take place on December 9.

Delhi, which is presently under the Congress` rule, will witness a total of 810 candidates in fray for 70 seats.

Three times Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit is facing a tough battle against BJP leader Vijendra Gupta and debut Aam Aadmi Party`s (AAP) Arvind Kejriwal.

In the 200-member Rajasthan Assembly, the fate of 2,087 candidates for 199 seats will be decided. In Churu, the polls had been adjourned due to the death of a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate post nomination, and their polling will take place on December 13.

Madhya Pradesh, which is currently under BJP`s rule, the fate of 2,583 candidates would be decided for 230 seats. Shivraj Singh Chahuhan is fighting against young Minister of State for Power Jyotiraditya Scindia for chief minister`s post in the state.

A tough battle between the BJP and the Congress would also be seen in Chhattisgarh. The fate of 843 candidates, including 75 women, will be decided for 90 seats in the two-phase polls that look place on November 11 and November 19.

Counting of votes will take place under heavy security and scrutiny.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery



Right to Privacy in digital arena

Look who's talking, Pak is greatest exporter of terror: Top 10 quotes from Sushma Swaraj's speech at UNGA

Choked cities go under: DNA examines how vanishing water bodies & green spaces causing urban sprawls to sink

Abe’s visit elevates India-Japan ties to new heights

Walking through the diverse caves of Ellora