Former CVC to head govt panel to decide IAS, IPS for Telangana

Last Updated: Sunday, June 1, 2014 - 11:35

New Delhi: Former Central vigilance Commissioner (CVC) Pratyush Sinha will head a five-member committee to decide on allocation of officers belonging to all India services for newly formed Telangana state.

The committee will make suitable recommendations regarding determination of the cadre strength of the three all India services-- Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Forest Service (IFoS) of the two successor states, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, a senior Ministry of Personnel official said.

Besides Sinha, the Committee will have Andhra Pradesh Chief Secretary, Special Secretary (Internal Security) in Ministry of Home Affairs and Inspector General (Forests) cum Special Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forests as member.

An Additional Secretary (Services and Vigilance) under Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) here will be member secretary of the committee.

Sinha is a 1969-batch retired IAS officer of Bihar cadre.

The committee will recommend objective and transparent criteria for the allocation or distribution of personnel belonging to IAS, IPS & IFoS, and borne on the existing cadre of Andhra Pradesh between the two successor states--Andhra Pradesh and Telangana--within three weeks, according to terms and reference for the committee.

Telangana, the country`s 29th state, will be born on June 2 and start functioning from that day.

The central government has already issued a gazette notification on the formation of Telangana. Parliament gave its approval on February 20 for the creation of Telangana by bifurcating Andhra Pradesh.

At present, there are 284 IAS officers, 209 IPS and 136 IFoS officers are working Andhra Pradesh, according to a central government data.
The total authorised strength of IAS and IPS for Andhra Pradesh is 376 and 258 respectively.

The committee will further subdivide the total authorised strength of IAS, IPS and IFoS into direct recruitment and promotion quota wise, unreserved, other backward classes (OBC), Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST), Insider and Outsider categories for the two states.

The panel will consider and take a view on any representation or comment made by any stakeholder with reference to such determination of cadre strength and principles.

After it is placed on the respective website of the three AIS for a period of one week, it will make suitable recommendations regarding the issues that may be raised through these representations, within a period of one week, it said.

The committee will invite representations from officers, in order to ensure a fair and equitable treatment to all and make appropriate recommendations, if any, within one week from the closure of accepting representations from stakeholders, the terms of reference said.
The government has also formed a six-member advisory committee, under the chairmanship of former IAS officer C R Kamalanathan, to decide on allocation of employees (excluding all India services) from Andhra Pradesh to newly formed Telangana state.

The Kamalanathan Committee will have existing Chief Secretary of Andhra Pradesh and additional secretary or joint secretary-level officer or his nominee from Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), as members.

Two IAS officers of Andhra Pradesh cadre--V Nagi Reddy (1984 batch) and P V Ramesh (1985 batch)--are other members of the committee.

An officer not below the rank of secretary to the state government coordinating the reorganisation cell in Andhra Pradesh will be member secretary of the advisory committee.


First Published: Sunday, June 1, 2014 - 11:35

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus