This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Govt declares Chakra awards for bravery

Last Updated: Friday, August 14, 2009 - 00:43

Zeenews Bureau

New Delhi: The government on Thursday announced the names of recipients of the gallantry awards that will be given by President Pratibha Patil on Independence Day.
According to reports, this time the government has decided to confer the highest peacetime gallantry award, the Ashok Chakra, to Major Mohit Sharma and Major D Srikumar.

Both will be conferred with the award posthumously.

Besides, four Shaurya Chakra and 131 Kirti Chakra awards have also been announced.

Major Mohit Sharma, a resident of Ghaziabad, was killed in a fierce gun-battle with the militants in Kashmir.

First Published: Friday, August 14, 2009 - 00:43
comments powered by Disqus