Govt rules out forming States Comm to create small states
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, March 15, 2011, 15:20
New Delhi: The Centre on Tuesday ruled out constitution of a second States Reorganisation Commission for creation of smaller states.

Minister of State for Home Gurudas Kamat also said that the Central government is not considering a general reorganisation of the states at this point of time and made it clear that it has not received any proposal from any state government for creation of any new state.

He, however, said demands and representations have come from time to time from various individuals and organisations for creation of new states like Telangana in Andhra Pradesh, Vidarbha in Maharashtra and Bundelkhand in Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.

The other demands received include creation of Bhojpur in east Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Bihar, Saurashtra in Gujarat, Coorg in Karnataka, Koshalanchal in western Orissa, Gorkhaland in West Bengal, Mithilanchal in North Bihar, parts of UP and West Bengal, Purvanchal, Harit Pradesh, Braj Pradesh and Awadh Pradesh comprising various regions of UP.

"Government takes decision on the matter of formation of new states after taking into consideration of all relevant factors. Action by the government would depend on the felt need and general consensus," Kamat told Lok Sabha.


First Published: Tuesday, March 15, 2011, 15:20

comments powered by Disqus