This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Govt temporarily upgrades posts of 22 senior IAS officers

Last Updated: Friday, January 18, 2013 - 22:48

New Delhi: The Centre on Friday upgraded posts of 22 senior bureaucrats, most of whom are due to take over as Secretary from next month.

IAS officer Rajiv Takru, who is working as Officer on Special Duty in Department of Financial Services, has been approved rank and pay of Secretary with effect from January 11, an official release said.

Takru, a 1979 batch Gujarat cadre IAS officer, will take over as Secretary, Department of Financial Services from February 1 after the present incumbent D K Mittal superannuates.

Besides, Enforcement Director Rajan S Katoch, has also been given rank and pay of Secretary.

Katoch, a 1979 batch IAS officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre, is working as Director, Directorate of Enforcement under the Department of Revenue.

The Appointments Committee of Cabinet (ACC) has approved the appointment of Syamal Kumar Sarkar, IAS (WB:79) as Special Secretary, Department of Personnel and Training till he takes over as Secretary (Water Resources).

The ACC has also given rank and pay of Secretary to Rajiv Gupta, IAS (Uttarakhand:79), Managing Director, National Agricultural Cooperative Marketing Federation (NAFED) under Department of Agriculture and Cooperation.

It has also appointed Ravi Mathur, IAS(RJ:79), as Special Secretary, Ministry of Labour and Employment till he takes over as Secretary (Disinvestment), the release said adding that the upgradation comes into effect on in-situ basis.

The ACC has upgraded the post to the rank and pay of Secretary held by Prasanna Kumar Mohanty, IAS(AP:79),who is working as Mission Director, Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) under the Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation.

Whereas, the Committee upgraded the post to Special Secretary being held by Sudhir Bhargava, IAS(RJ:79), Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Siraj Hussain, IAS(UP:79), Department of Agriculture and Cooperation, Zohra Chatterji, IAS(UP:79), Ministry of Coal, Nilanjan Sanyal, IAS(OR:79), Ministry of Women and Child Development and S Machendranathan, IAS(TN:79), Ministry of Civil Aviation.

The posts held by Ravindra Singh, IAS(UP:79), in Ministry of Culture, Gauri Kumar, IAS(GJ:79), Ministry of Mines, Anup Kumar Thakur, IAS(AM:79), in Department of Agriculture and Cooperation, Afzal Amanullah, IAS(BH:79), Department of Consumer Affairs, G Mohan Kumar, IAS(OR:79), in Ministry of Water Resources and LC Goyal, IAS(KL:79), in Cabinet Secretariat have been upgraded to Special Secretary, it said.

EK Bharat Bhushan, IAS(KL:79), working in Ministry of Steel and Bimal Julka, IAS(MP:79), in Ministry of External Affairs have been given rank and pay of Special Secretary in their respective departments.

The ACC also approved rank and pay of Secretary to Vandana Kumari Jena, IAS(OR:79), working as Principal Adviser, Planning Commission, Lalit K Panwar, IAS(RJ:79), Vice-Chairman & Managing Director, India Tourism Development Corporation, under Ministry of Tourism and Meera Mehrishi, IAS(RJ:79), Special Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forests.


First Published: Friday, January 18, 2013 - 22:48
comments powered by Disqus