India, S Africa to conduct exchange of lawmakers

Last Updated: Friday, May 4, 2012 - 20:23

Cape Town: India and South Africa on Friday agreed to intensify cooperation and exchange of parliamentarians when President Pratibha Patil visited the South African Parliament here today.

Amid traditional African music and dance, the President was warmly received by the Speaker of the National Assembly MV Sisulu and Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces MJ Mahalangu.

During discussion with the Presiding Officers as also the parliamentarians, it was agreed to exchange goodwill delegation of lawmakers, dates of which will be finalised later.

They also discussed and agreed to work together on federalism, decentralisation and representation of women in Parliament.

Fatima Hajaiag, South African MP along with Deputy Minister M L Fransman were present along with Union Minister Sachin Pilot and Prabha Thakur and Sanjay Dhotre, both MPs, during the deliberations.

Though the nation capital of South Africa is in Pretoria, its Parliament meets in Cape Town, where a permanent office of the Indian High Commission has been opened in 1996.

Against the background of India`s consistent support to the anti-apartheid struggle, there has been a steady consolidation to the close and friendly ties with South Africa.


First Published: Friday, May 4, 2012 - 20:23
comments powered by Disqus