This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Indian Navy gets new base in Lakshadweep

Last Updated: Monday, April 30, 2012 - 13:44

Kavaratti: To augment the security infrastructure at the strategically important Lakshadweep Islands, a naval base of the Indian Navy was commissioned at Kavaratti today.

INS Dweeprakshak, the latest naval base was commissioned by Vice Admiral KN Sushil, Flag Officer Commanding in Chief Southern Naval Command.

A firmer footing in the islands, which spreads out to some of the busiest shipping lanes of the world, would provide the necessary wherewithal to the Indian Navy to discharge its responsibilities suitably.

Indian naval warships on patrol would now extend their reach farther with base support from INS Dweeprakshak.

Vice Admiral Sushil noted that the commissioning of a full-fledged naval base was another milestone in the commitment of the Indian Navy to maintain effective coastal surveillance and defence capability.

He also complimented the crew of the INS Dweeprakshak and exhorted them to do their utmost in the discharge of their responsibilities.

INS Dweeprakshak, the latest Naval Base of Indian Navy was commissioned at Kavaratti in the Lakshadweep archipelago today by Vice Admiral KN Sushil, Flag Officer Commanding in Chief Southern Naval Command.

Indian Navy has been operating a detachment at Kavaratti since early eighties. With the commissioning of INS Dweeprakshak, the island territories would see calibrated strengthening of assets in step with their growing relevance to the security calculus of the nation.

Lakshadweep is the tiniest Union Territory of India and is its only coral island chain. This archipelago consists of 36 islands, 12 atolls, 3 reefs and 5 submerged banks. The islands have a total area of 32 sq.kms and the lagoons enclosed by the atolls cover an area of 4200 sq.kms.

Its territorial waters extend to 20,000 sq.kms and Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) to 4,00,000 sq.kms. Only 10 of these islands namely, Agatti, Amini, Andrott, Bitra, Chetlat, Kadmat, Kalpeni, Kavaratti, Kiltan and Minicoy are inhabited. (ANI)

First Published: Monday, April 30, 2012 - 13:44
comments powered by Disqus