JD-U not to renominate its three Rajya Sabha MPs

Last Updated: Thursday, January 23, 2014 - 18:12

Patna: Bihar`s ruling Janata Dal (United) will not renominate its three MPs in the biennial elections to five Rajya Sabha seats from the state to be held Feb 7 and has decided to field new faces this time, party sources said Thursday.

A senior JD-U leader close to Chief Minister Nitish Kumar said the party will not renominate its three retiring MPs.

"The JD-U has decided to field new faces to the Rajya Sabha," the JD-U leader said.

According to party leaders, the three retiring JD(U) Rajya Sabha MPs -- NK Singh, Shivanand Tiwari and Sabir Ali -- have instead been offered an opportunity to contest the Lok Sabha polls.
"Singh was offered nomination on the Banka Lok Sabha seat, Tiwari on Buxar seat and Ali from Sheohar," a JD-U leader said.

JD-U president Sharad Yadav is arriving here Thursday night and he is likely to formally announce the party decision.

Three of these five seats are with the JD-U while one each is with RJD and BJP.
However, now the RJD in not in position to re-elect any member as it has only 22 MLAs. Consequently, the JD-U and BJP are likely to win three and two seats, respectively.


First Published: Thursday, January 23, 2014 - 18:12

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus