This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Lok Sabha polls: Sushma to contest from Vidisha, Ram Kripal Yadav from Pataliputra

Last Updated: Friday, March 14, 2014 - 09:25

New Delhi: Former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha`s son Jayant and late Pramod Mahajan`s daughter Poonam were among the 100 candidates finalised today by BJP for Lok Sabha polls.

Leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj will contest from Vidisha constituency in Madhya Pradesh, according to the list of nominees released by BJP which also fielded former RJD leader Ram Kripal Yadav, who joined the party today, against Lalu Prasad`s daughter Misa Bharti from Pataliputra constituency in Bihar.

The much-expected consideration of seats in Uttar Pradesh was not made in today`s meeting of the party`s Central Election Committee which will meet again on Saturday.

Today`s meeting decided to field former External Affairs Minister Yashwant Sinha`s son Jayant from Hazaribagh constituency in Jharkhand.
"The decision was taken after senior BJP leader Yashwant Sinha expressed his desire not to contest elections due to his age and said he will continue to serve the party by remaining out of electoral politics," BJP general secretary Ananth Kumar said.

Pramod Mahajan`s daughter and BJYM secretary Poonam Mahajan has been fielded by the party from Mumbai North-Central constituency against Priya Dutt of Congress.

The party today finalised a total of 100 candidates in 11 states, including 25 in Bihar, 24 in Madhya Pradesh, 13 in Jharkhand, 14 in Kerala, 7 in West Bengal, 6 in Assam, 5 in Karnataka and 2 in Maharashtra.

This was the third list of BJP nominees and the first two lists had featured 106 candidates.

Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker Karia Munda will contest from Khunti (ST) Lok Sabha constituency of Jharkhand, he currently represents.

The party said the candidate for the Patna Saheb seat will be decided after consultations with incumbent MP Shatrughan Sinha. It added that consultations with him were on.
Former Rajya Sabha member S S Ahluwalia has been fielded by the party from Darjeeling seat in West Bengal, while Sumitra Mahajan will contest from her Indore constituency in Madhya Pradesh.

In Karnataka, BJP decided to field two close confidantes of former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, who recently returned to the party fold after merging his own party. He had contested the assembly polls against the BJP in the state assembly polls.

While former state minister Shobha Karandlaje has been fielded from Udupi-Chikmanglur seat, sitting MP from Tumkur constituency in the state Gangasandra Siddappa Basavaraj has been fielded again.

The party has not declared its candidate for the Bellary seat even though sources said it has decided to give the seat to BSR Congress Chief B Sreeramalu, who will have to join the BJP to contest on its ticket.

First Published: Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 22:38
comments powered by Disqus