Lokpal vote: Sonia wants list of absent MPs

Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Wednesday sought the list of party MPs who were absent during voting on Lokpal.

New Delhi: After the embarrassment in Lok
Sabha, an angry Congress President Sonia Gandhi today sought
the list of party MPs who remained absent during voting on
Constitution Amendment Bill on Lokpal amid moves to issue show
cause notices to them.

Sources said party General Secretary Rahul Gandhi, who
had floated the idea of granting constitutional status to
Lokpal, is also furious after the bill failed to get through
in the Lok Sabha yesterday because of want of requisite

According to preliminary details, 16 MPs of the UPA were

Of them, six Congress MPs are from Gujarat, including
Union Minister Dinsha Patel who was at home in connection with
the marriage of his granddaughter.

Among others who were said to be absent were K Sudhakaran
(Kerala), Hamdullah Sayeed (Lakshadweep), K Raj Gopal Reddy
(Andhra Pradesh) and M Rajamohan Reddy.

Reddy is a supporter of YSR Congress leader Jaganmohan
Reddy and has already submitted his resignation to Lok Sabha
Speaker Meira Kumar.

Three MPs of DMK and two of Trinamool Congress were also

The sources said Sonia Gandhi was angry and has tasked
party MPs Girija Vyas and Sandeep Dikshit to prepare the list
and find out the reasons for the absence.

A show cause notice would be issued to the absentee MPs,
they said.

With regard to action against the absentee MPs of allies,
the sources said it was for the leadership of respective
parties to decide.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link