Mamata elected Trinamool national chairperson

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee was unanimously elected as the national chairperson of Trinamool Congress.

Last Updated: Nov 02, 2011, 18:09 PM IST

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was on Wednesday unanimously elected as the national
chairperson of Trinamool Congress in an organisational poll
set in motion last month.

"Mamata Banerjee has been elected unopposed as the
chairperson of the Trinamool Congress," party general
secretary and the returning officer Mukul Roy announced here.

The organisational polls, which began with election of the
chairperson, would be carried out in states, districts and
block levels for various posts, Roy, who is also a Union
minister, said.
56-year-old Banerjee, who became Chief Minister in May
after Trinamool Congress and Congress alliance recorded a
historic win ejecting the 34-year-old Left Front government
from power, is the founding chairperson of the party and has
been re-elected to the post in 2001 and 2006.
Roy said around 11,000 members, including party MPs and
MLAs, participated in the election process. Party members from
Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura and Jharkhand also