Mayawati, Jaya Bachchan elected to Rajya Sabha
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, March 22, 2012, 22:44
Lucknow: Former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Mayawati and actor-turned-politician Jaya Bachchan are among ten candidates who were on Thursday declared elected unopposed for Rajya Sabha from the state.

Ten seats of the upper house had fallen vacant this month, the election for which was scheduled on March 30. Today was the last day for withdrawal of nominations.

Only 10 nominations were filed for as many seats and nobody withdrew the nomination. In such a situation, there was no need of polling, hence the Election Commission announced the results today itself.

In the 403-member UP Assembly, SP has 224 members, BSP 80, BJP 47 and Congress-RLD 37.

Those who won on SP ticket are Bachchan, Kiranmay Nanda, Darshan Singh Yadav, Naresh Agarwal, Brij Bhushan Tiwari and Munawwar Saleem. The two BSP candidates elected are Mayawati and Munkaad Ali. BJP nominee Vinay Katiyar and Congress-RLD candidate Rasheed Masood were also declared elected.


First Published: Thursday, March 22, 2012, 22:44

comments powered by Disqus