This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Ministers and their portfolios

Last Updated: Thursday, May 28, 2009 - 21:24

New Delhi, May 28: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Thursday inducting 59 faces in his Council of Ministers and gave portfolios of HRD to Kapil Sibal, Law to Veerappa Moily and Road Transport and Highways to Kamal Nath. Following is the list of
Ministers and their portfolios:

Cabinet Ministers

Virbhadra Singh: Steel

Vilasrao Deshmukh: Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Ghulam Nabi Azad: Health and Family Welfare

Sushil Kumar Shinde: Power

M Veerappa Moily: Law and Justice

Farooq Abdullah: New and Renewable Energy

S Jaipal Reddy: Urban Development

Kamal Nath: Road Transport and Highways

Vayalar Ravi: Overseas Indian Affairs

Meira Kumar: Water Resources

Dayanidhi Maran: Textiles

A Raja: Communications and Information Technology

Murli Deora: Petroleum and Natural Gas

Ambika Soni: Information and Broadcasting

Mallikarjun Kharge: Labour and Employment

Kapil Sibal: Human Resource Development

B K Handique: Mines and Development of North Eastern Region

Anand Sharma: Commerce and Industry

C P Joshi: Rural Development and Panchayati Raj.

Selja: Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation; Tourism

Subodh Kant Sahay: Food Processing Industries

M S Gill: Youth Affairs and Sports

G K Vasan: Shipping

Pawan K Bansal: Parliamentary Affairs

Mukul Wasnik: Social Justice and Empowerment

Kantilal Bhuria: Tribal Affairs

M K Alagiri: Chemicals and Fertilizers

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

Praful Patel: Civil Aviation

Prithviraj Chavan: Science and Technology;
Earth Sciences and Minister of State in the Prime Minister`s
Office; Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and
Parliamentary Affairs.

Sriprakash Jaiswal: Coal; Statistics and Programme Implementation

Salman Khursheed: Corporate Affairs; Minority Affairs

Dinsha J Patel: Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

Krishna Tirath: Women and Child Development

Jairam Ramesh: Environment and Forests.

Ministers of State

Srikant Jena: Chemicals and Fertilizers

E Ahamed Minister: Railways

Mullappally Ramachandran: Home Affairs

V Narayansamy: Planning, and Parliamentary Affairs

Jyotiraditya Scindia: Commerce and Industry

D Purandeswari Minister: Human Resource Development

K.H. Muniyappa Minister: Railways

Ajay Maken Minister: Home Affairs

Panabaka Lakshmi: Textiles

Namo Narain Meena: Finance

MM Pallam Raju: Defence

Saugata Ray: Urban Development

SS Palanimanickam: Finance

Jitin Prasad: Petroleum and Natural Gas

A Sai Prathap: Steel

Preneet Kaur: External Affairs

Gurdas Kamat: Communications and IT

Harish Rawat: Labour and Employment

KV Thomas: Agriculture, and Consumer Affairs, Food & Public

Bharatsinh Solanki: Power

Mahadev S. Khandela: Road Transport and Highways

Dinesh Trivedi Minister: Health and Family Welfare

Sisir Adhikari: Rural Development

Sultan Ahmed: Tourism

Mukul Roy: Shipping

Mohan Jatua: Information and Broadcasting

D Napoleon: Social Justice and Empowerment

Dr S Jagathrakshakan: Information and Broadcasting

S Gandhiselvan: Health and Family Welfare

Tusharbhai Chaudhary: Tribal Affairs

Sachin Pilot: Communications and IT

Arun Yadav: Youth Affairs and Sports

Pratik Patil: Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

R.P.N. Singh: Road Transport and Highways

Shashi Tharoor: External Affairs

Vincent Pala: Water Resources

Pradeep Jain: Rural Development

Agatha Sangma: Rural Development

Bureau Report

First Published: Thursday, May 28, 2009 - 21:24
comments powered by Disqus