Ministers who matter in Manmohan`s cabinet

Here is the list that also, perhaps, gives an insight into how authority is shared in New Delhi`s corridors of power.

The slew of ministerial groups set up by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to assist in consensus-building and decision-making, once headed by Pranab Mukherjee, who was then the finance minister and is now India`s president, are currently chaired by just three ministers: P. Chidambaram, A.K. Antony and Sharad Pawar.

Here is the list of such committees with brief terms of reference and their chairs - a listing that also, perhaps, gives an insight into how authority is shared in New Delhi`s corridors of power along Raisina Hill that houses top ministries.

Functional Empowered Group of Ministers or EGoMs:

1. On vacation of telecom spectrum and allocation of licences: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

2. On price band for sale of shares in public sector enterprises: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

3. On effective management of drought and related issues: Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar.

4. On pricing and utilisation of natural gas: Defence Minister A.K. Antony.

5. On ultra mega power projects: Defence Minister A.K. Antony.

6. On mass rapid transport system: Defence Minister A.K. Antony.

Functional Group of Ministers:

1. On integrated strategy for water management: Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar.

2. On the proposed national war memorial: Defence Minister A.K. Antony.

3. on the reports of the Administrative Reforms Commission: Defence Minister A.K. Antony.

4. On civil aviation sector: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

5. On national pharmaceuticals policy: Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar.

6. On power sector issues: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

7. On functioning of Prasar Bharati: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

8. On Bhopal gas leak disaster: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

9. On measures to tackle corruption: Defence Minister A.K. Antony.

10. On environmental issues concerning coal mining: Defence Minister Sharad Pawar.

11. On Media: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

12. On reports of the High Level Committee on Commonwealth Games: A.K. Antony.

13. On amending the Competition Act: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

14. On independent regulator for the coal sector: Finance Minister P. Chidambaram.

15. On proposal to excuse creamy layer from other backward classes: Finance Minister P Chidambaram.

16. On including erosion as a national disaster to claim funding: Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar.

The score: Chidambaram ten; Antony seven; Pawar Five

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link