MPs take Sunday off, forget Parliament attack martyrs

The very MPs whose lives were saved during the Parliament terror attack eight years ago, seem to have forgotten their saviours.

Zeenews Bureau

New Delhi: Even as a grateful nation on Sunday remembered the martyrs who sacrificed their lives while repulsing a terror attack on Parliament eight years ago, the very Members of Parliament whose lives were saved seemed to have forgotten their saviours.

At the ceremony inside the Parliament complex to pay floral tributes to December 13, 2001 attack martyrs, only 11 MPs were present. Among those who attended the solemn ceremony include Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and Leader of the
Opposition LK Advani.

Barring a few MPs who paid the floral tributes, others were busy taking a Sunday off. While it is true some may be busy attending to the work in their respective constituencies away from the national capital, at least those who were present in Delhi should have shown respect to the martyrs.

Five heavily-armed gunmen had stormed the Parliament on December 13, 2001 and opened indiscriminate fire, killing nine people. Among the dead were five Delhi Police personnel, a woman constable of the Central Reserve Police Force, two Rajya Sabha Secretariat officials and a gardener.

All five terrorists were shot dead.

The Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha had been adjourned but many MPs were still in the building when the attack took place.

A year later, four terrorists were arrested for the attack and found guilty after trial.

Mohammad Afzal Guru was the only accused to be awarded the death penalty. The sentence has been stayed as his mercy petition is pending.

(With PTI inputs)