This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Nation pays homage to martyrs of Parliament attack

Last Updated: Friday, December 13, 2013 - 16:53

New Delhi: Martyrs of 2001 attack on Parliament were remembered on Friday with lawmakers led by Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar paying homage to them on the 12th anniversary of the incident.

Leaders paid their respect both outside and inside Parliament.

UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, her son and Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi, Leaders of Opposition in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley respectively and other members attended a solemn ceremony held in the premises of Parliament.

Retired Indian cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar was also present on the occasion.

The leaders observed silence for a while as a mark of respect for the martyrs.

Commenting on the anniversary, Swaraj said this year she was "satisfied that the mastermind of the attacks has already been punished."

BSP supremeo Mayawati said the Government should ensure that all facilities are provided to the kin of martyrs who sacrificed their lives for the country.

Inside the Lok Sabha, the Speaker led the House in remembering the martyrs who lost their lives while preventing the Pakistani terrorists from entering Parliament.

First Published: Friday, December 13, 2013 - 16:53

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus