Natn`al Awards: 2-tier jury, cash component hike
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, May 11, 2010, 23:54
New Delhi: Formation of a two-tier jury and and increasing the cash component of the awards are some of the key suggestions made by an expert panel on National Film Awards, which submitted its report to Information and Broadcasting Minister Ambika Soni today.

The Ministry had formed the committee in December last year under the chairmanship of veteran filmmaker Shyam Benegal with the aim of making the National Film Awards more contemporary and competitive.

Benegal submitted the report to Soni here in the presence of ministry officials and committee members including Censor Board chairperson Sharmila Tagore.

Setting up of a two-tier jury for facilitating the selection process is a key recommendation made by the committee, wherein there could be a Central Jury and five regional juries for covering languages in different regions.

The committee has also outlined guidelines for the regional jury composition.

For finetuning the awards according to the emerging realities of cinema, the committee has recommended the constitution of new awards in the sphere of audiography, music, best screenplay and dialogue.

Also, in order to make the nomenclature of awards more contemporary, the committee has recommended the award for 'Best Art Direction' to be renamed as the award for 'Best Production Design'.

It has further recommended raising the number of awards in the feature film category from 31 to 34. Apart from this, it has also suggested raising the cash prize for special jury award feature films from Rs 1,25,000 lakh to Rs 2 lakh.

The cash component of awards for Best non-feature Film and Best Direction may be enhanced from Rs 1 lakh to Rs 2 lakh and brought on par with feature films, the report suggested.

The committee also recommended raising cash component of the Special Jury award from Rs 50,000 to Rs 2 lakh and the cash component of best first non-feature film award from Rs 50,000 to Rs 1,25,000.

For the non-feature film category, it has recommended that the awards for the categories of environment, agriculture and education could be split in two categories, namely Best Educational Film and Best Film on Environment.

While appreciating the good work done by the committee and submitting the report within a short span of time, Soni said that the Ministry would now process the recommendations made by the panel.

Apart from Benegal, the committee consisted of noted film personalities like Sai Paranjpye, Ashok Vishwanathan, Rajiv Mehrotra, Sharmila Tagore, Vishal Bhardwaj, Nagesh Kukunoor, Mohan Agashe, Waheeda Rehman, Jahnu Baruah and Shaji Karun.


First Published: Tuesday, May 11, 2010, 23:54

comments powered by Disqus