Naxal attacks: A timeline

Following is the chronology of major recent Naxal attacks in the country since 2008

New Delhi: Following is the chronology of
major recent Naxal attacks in the country since 2008:

June 29, 2008: Maoists attack a boat on Balimela
reservoir in Orissa carrying four anti-Naxalite police
officials and 60 Greyhound commandos, killing 38 troops.

July 16, 2008: 21 policemen killed when a police van is
blown up in a landmine blast in Malkangiri district of Orissa.

April 13, 2009: 10 paramilitary troops killed in eastern
Orissa when Maoists attack a bauxite mine in Koraput district.

April 22, 2009: Maoists hijack a train with at least 300
people on board in Jharkhand and force it to Latehar district
before fleeing.

May 22, 2009: Maoists kill 16 policemen in the jungles of
Gadchiroli district in Maharashtra.

June 10, 2009: Nine policemen, including CRPF troops and
officers, ambushed by Maoists during a routine patrol in
Saranda jungles in Jharkhand.

June 13, 2009: Naxals launch two landmine and bomb
attacks in a small town close to Bokaro, killing 10 policemen
and injuring several others.

June 16, 2009: Maoists kill 11 police officers in a
landmine attack followed by armed assault. In a separate
attack, four policemen were killed and two others seriously
injured when Maoists ambush them at Beherakhand in Palamau

June 23, 2009: A group of motorcycle-borne armed Naxal
rebels open fire on Lakhisarai district court premises in
Bihar and free four of their comrades including the self-style
Zonal Commander of Ranchi.

July 18, 2009: Naxalites kill a villager in Bastar and in
a separate incident torch a vehicle engaged in road
construction work in Bijapur district of Chhattisgarh.

July 27, 2009: Six persons killed when Naxals trigger a
landmine blast at Dantewada district in Chhattisgarh.

July 31, 2009: A special police officer and another
person killed by Naxals in Bijapur district.

Sep 4, 2009: Naxals kill four villagers in a forest in
Aaded village in Chhattisgarh`s Bijapur district.

Sep 26, 2009: Naxals kill BJP MP from Balaghat Baliram
Kashyap`s sons at Pairaguda village in Jagdalpur

Sep 30, 2009: Naxalites set ablaze Gram Panchayat offices
at Korchi and Belgaon in Gadchiroli district of Maharashtra.

Oct 8, 2009: 17 policemen killed when Maoists ambushed
them at Laheri police station in Gadchiroli district of

Feb 15, 2010: 24 personnel of the Eastern Frontier Rifles
(EFR) killed as Maoists attack their camp in Silda in West
Midnapore district of West Bengal.

April 4, 2010: Maoists trigger a landmine blast killing
11 security personnel of the elite anti-naxal force Special
Operations Group (SOG) in Koraput district of Orrisa.

April 6, 2010: 75 CRPF personnel and a Chhattisgarh
police official killed in a naxal attack in Dantewada

May 8, 2010: Eight CRPF jawans were killed when Naxals
blow up a bullet-proof vehicle in Bijapur district of

June 29, 2010: At least 15 CRPF personnel killed in a
Naxal ambush in Naraynpur district of Chhattisgarh.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link