NDA govt to announce names of Governors for seven states today?

By Neha Attre | Last Updated: Sunday, July 6, 2014 - 09:43

Zee Media Bureau/ Neha Attre

New Delhi: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government is likely to announce names of the Governors to be appointed in the seven states on Sunday.

The new appointments by the central government will come after the governors of the states were reportedly asked to stepped down as they were appointed by the erstwhile Congress government.

The names of former finance minister Yashwant Sinha, former MP Lalji Tandon and former union minister Ram Naik are doing the rounds.
Uttar Pradesh Governor BL Joshi, Chhattisgarh Governor Shekhar Dutt and Nagaland Governor Ashwani Kumar had earlier stepped down from their respective posts.

MK Narayanan (West Bengal) and BV Wanchoo (Goa) put in their papers later.

Meanwhile, Karnataka Governor HR Bhardwaj and Tripura Governor Devanand Konwar retired.
Bhardwaj was the Law Minister in UPA-I while Konwar was a former Congress Minister in Assam.

Both were appointed as Governors of their respective states in 2009.

First Published: Sunday, July 6, 2014 - 08:46

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus