New office-bearers of National Union of Journalists elected
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, November 30, 2010, 22:44
New Delhi: Senior journalists Prajnananda Chaudhuri and Ras Bihari have been elected as the President and Secretary-General of the National Union of Journalists respectively.

The new office bearers, including five vice presidents and as many secretaries, were elected at the 16th National Conference held in Haryana over the weekend. Besides, a treasurer and 31 executive committee members from various parts of the country were also elected.

The vice-presidents are Subash C Nigam, Jitendra Awathi, Prasanna Mohanty, Ram Bhuwan Singh Kushwah and Alam Mehdi. The secretaries are Sanjay Rathee, Deepak Rai, Bramh Dutt Sharma,Rajesh Tosniwal and M Yugandhar Reddy.

The newly elected executive members include Usha Pahwa, Harsha Vardhan, M D Gangwar, Dadhibal Yadav, Raj Kumar Singh, Praveen K Singh from Delhi, Krishna Gopal Vidyarthi, Subash Chandra, Mangeram Sharma from Haryana, N J Prasad, Mohan Yadav, B R Prabhakar from Andhra Pradesh.

Prabir Chakraworty, Radha Kant Das, Asim Kumar Mitra and Bishwadev Bhattacharya from West Bengal have also been elected.

Over 800 journalists participated in the conference and discussed several issues like attack on scribes and how state should provide security to them.


First Published: Tuesday, November 30, 2010, 22:44

comments powered by Disqus