This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Over 3,000 independent candidates lost in four Assembly polls

Last Updated: Monday, December 9, 2013 - 20:02

New Delhi: Over 3,000 independent candidates failed to win any seat in 589 assembly constituencies in the four states of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Delhi and Rajasthan.

Of the total of 3,043 independent candidates who contested the elections, only 12 could win seats in these states.

A highest of 1,091 such candidates contested in Madhya Pradesh, followed by 758 in Rajasthan, 509 in Delhi and 685 in Chhattisgarh.
Of these, seven independent candidates won in Rajasthan, three in Madhya Pradesh and one each in Chhattisgarh and Delhi, according to the results announced yesterday.

Madhya Pradesh has 230 assembly constituencies, Chhattisgarh has 90 seats, Delhi has 70 assembly constituencies and Rajasthan has 200 seats. However, in Rajasthan polling was held for 199 constituencies as the balloting in one of the seats--Churu-- was adjourned following the death of BSP candidate Jagdish.

BJP won majority in three states-- Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan-- by winning 165, 49 and 162 seats respectively.

Whereas in Delhi it emerged as single largest party by winning 31 assembly constituencies. Arvind Kejriwal led Aam Aadmi party (AAP) came second by winning 28 seats.

As many as 4,475 candidates contested the four assembly elections.

In 2008 assembly elections, over 3,100 independent candidates had lost in these four states. As many as 3,164 independent candidates had contested the polls of which 18 were successful.

The highest of 1,397 such contestants were in Madhya Pradesh, 1,023 in Rajasthan, 387 in Chhattisgarh and 357 in Delhi.

Of these, 14 independent candidates had won in Rajasthan, three in Madhya Pradesh and one in Delhi in 2008 assembly polls. None of the independent candidates won in Chhattisgarh during the last elections.

As many as 7,314 candidates contested in these four states in 2008.

First Published: Monday, December 9, 2013 - 20:02

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus