This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Padma Awards announced, Rajesh Khanna gets Padma Bhushan

Superstar Rajesh Khanna, Rahul Dravid, Sri Devi and Prof Yashpal are among the recipients of the prestigious Padma Award for 2013.

New Delhi: Noted physicist Yash Pal and space scientist Roddam Narasimha were Friday chosen for this year`s second highest civilian honour of Padma Vibhushan while yesteryear cine stars late Rajesh Khanna and Sharmila Tagore and cricketer Rahul Dravid were selected for Padma Bhushan.

Renowned sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra and painter S Haider Raza were chosen for Padma Vibhushan as government came out with a list of 108 Padma awardees that included actress Sridevi, actors Nana Patekar and Malayalam star Madhu of Chemmeen fame and Olympians Mary Kom, Yogeshwar Dutt and Vijay Kumar.

In all four personalities were awarded Padma Vibhushan, 24 for Padma Bhushan and 80 Padma Shri. Of the awardees 24 are women, 11 belong to the category of foreigners, NRI, PIOs and posthumous.

Nobody was named for Bharat Ratna for this year too. The last awardee was late Bhimsen Joshi in 2008.

Satirist Jaspal Bhatti, who died in a road accident last year, film maker D Rama Naidu, noted South Indian playback singer S Janaki, Bharatnatyam dancer Saroja Vaidyanathan, missile scientist Dr A Sivathanu Pillai of BrahMos programme, Industrialist Adi Godrej and R Tyagarajan, former bureaucrat M K Bhan were among the 24 Padma Bhushan awardees.

Prominent winners include:

Padma Vibhushan

Prof Yashpal, Haider Raza, Raghunath Mohapatra, Rodham Narsimha.
Padma Bhushan

Rajesh Khanna (posthumous), D Ramanaidu, Rahul Dravid, Sushil Kumar, Mary Kom, Sharmlia Tagore.

Padma Shri

Sridevi, Ramesh Sippy, Ritu Kumar, Kailesh Kher, Vijay Kumar, Fauza Singh, Gautam Gambhir, and Alok Kumar, Hilda Mit Lepcha, Mizoram educationist J Malsawma, Noted Assamese tea industrialist Hemendra Prasad Barooah, Xatriya dance exponent Ghanakanta Bora Borbayan, Mmountaineer Premlata Agrawal, wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, Para athlete Hosanagara Nagarajegowda Girisha, London Olympic silver medallist shooter Vijay Kumar, boxer Ngangom Dingko Singh, Rower Bajrang Lal.


From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions