Rahul on Par panel on HRD, Keshava Rao remains

Rahul Gandhi has been made a member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Human Resource Development.

New Delhi: Rahul Gandhi has been made a member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Human Resource Development, one of the 23 panels for looking into the work of various ministries that have been reconstituted, it was announced on Friday.

Congress leader K Keshava Rao, whose criticism of the HRD Ministry headed by Kapil Sibal led to the fall of a key education bill in the Rajya Sabha, continues to be the member of the Committee which has senior party leader Oscar Fernandes as its Chairman.

Senior BJP leader L K Advani is a member of the Committee on Home Affairs headed by his party colleague M Venkaiah Naidu while T Subbirami Reddy continues to be the Chairman on the Committee on Science and Technology which recently went into the Civil Nuclear Liability Bill.

Congress spokesmen Abishek Singhvi and Manish Tewari are on the Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice headed by another party spokesperson Jayanti Natarajan. All the three are lawyers. The panel also has Ram Jethmalani of the BJP and Lalu Prasad of the RJD.

Former Finance Minister Yashwant Sinha of the BJP heads the Committee on Finance which has sulking Andhra Pradesh leader YS Jagan Mohan Reddy as its member.

CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury continues to head the Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture which has senior Congress leader V Kishore Chandra Deo as one of the members.

CPI(M) leader in the Lok Sabha Basudeb Acharia heads the Committee on Agriculture which has Satyavrat Chaturvedi of the Congress who has been a known critic of Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar as one of the members.

BJP Deputy Leader in the Lok Sabha Gopinath Munde heads the committee on Chemicals and Fertilisers while S P supreme Mulayam Singh Yadav heads the committee on Energy. The Committee has Arjun Munde, who is set to become Jharkhand Chief Minister, as a member.

Shashi Tharoor and Supriya Sule are members of the Committee on External Affairs, headed by BJP leader Ananth Kumar.

Senior DMK leader T R Baalu is the Chairman of the Committee on Railways, while senior Congress leader Arjun Singh is a member on the Committee on Rural Development.

Dara Singh Chauhan of the BSP heads the committee on Social Justice and Empowerment while its another leader Brijesh Pathak heads the committee on Health and Family Welfare.

JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav is the Chairman of the committee on Urban Development.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link