Rail Minister Trivedi unveils 11-point programme
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, July 14, 2011, 23:20
New Delhi: After taking over as the new Railway Minister, Dinesh Trivedi on Thursday unveiled an 11-point programme to modernise the public-sector behemoth and announced that there will be no unmanned crossings by 2016.

"Our efforts will be to ensure that by 2016 all level crossings are either manned or have an overbridge," he said here.

Currently, there are 32,694 level crossings across the country, of which 14,853 are unmanned.

According to official data, 229 people were killed at unmanned level crossings in 2010-11 and 95 in 2011-12.

The 11-point agenda, declared by Trivedi includes preparation of a national data base of railway owned land for land use and focuses on exploration of new projects such as high-speed rail to meet growing needs of Indian transport sector, besides forging linkages with other transport hubs.

Trivedi also emphasised indigenisation of Indian Railways such as new designs and developments to create more jobs and modernisation of railway factories to increase the capacity.


First Published: Thursday, July 14, 2011, 23:20

comments powered by Disqus