This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Rajasthan, Tripura, Karnataka, Delhi bag EC award for best electoral practices

Last Updated: Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 00:10

New Delhi: The four states of Rajasthan, Tripura, Karnataka and Delhi have been selected by the Election Commission for an award of excellence for having the best electoral practices and introducing innovative measures which saw them achieve high turnouts in Assembly polls last year.
Noting their achievements in the area of poll management, EC has decided to confer upon these four states the `Award of Excellence` as part of the National Awards, 2013.

The award will be presented by the President as part of a National Voters` Day function tomorrow.
The 2013 Assembly polls saw an increase of 14.54 per cent in the voter turnout in Delhi whereas other states which went to polls, like Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan recorded an increase of 4.12, 9.54, 11.95 percent, respectively.

First Published: Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 00:10
comments powered by Disqus