Rajeev Kher appointed new Commerce Secretary

Last Updated: Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 17:09

New Delhi: Senior IAS officer Rajeev Kher has been appointed Secretary in Department of Commerce. Kher, a 1980-batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre, is presently Special Secretary, Department of Commerce under Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

He will take over from S R Rao, a 1978-batch IAS officer of Gujarat cadre, after his retirement on January 31, a press release issued today by Ministry of Personnel said.

Sudarsanam Srinivasan, a 1980-batch IAS officer of Odisha cadre, has been appointed Member (Finance), Atomic Energy, Space and Earth Commissions.

Srinivasan, who is presently Special Secretary and Financial Adviser in Department of Space, has been appointed in the rank and pay of Secretary following retirement of A P Joshi, a 1978-batch IAS officer of Karnataka cadre.

A Vijayanand, a 1980-batch officer of Indian Revenue Service (C&CE), will be Additional Secretary and Financial Adviser in Department of Space, it said.

V S Madan, Director General and Mission Director of Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) has been given one year extension, till March 2015.

The tenure of Madan, a 1981-batch IAS officer of AGMUT cadre, was to end on March 28 this year. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved extension of tenure of J Sathyanarayana, a 1977-batch IAS officer of Andhra Pradesh cadre, as Secretary, Department of Electronics and Information Technology till his superannuation due on April 30.
Besides, S S Garbyal, a 1977-batch Indian Forest Service (IFoS) officer, has been appointed Director General (Forests) and Special Secretary in Ministry of Environment and Forests.
The vacancy has necessitated following retirement of K Jude Sekhar, a 1976-batch IFoS officer. Vandana Kumari Jena, Secretary of Department of Land Resources, has got additional charge of the post of Secretary, Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation, during the period of absence of leave of Pankaj Jain, a 1978-batch IAS officer of Jammu and Kashmir cadre. Jain is on leave till January 19, 2014. Jena is a 1979-batch IAS officer of Odisha cadre.

First Published: Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 17:09

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus