Republic Day: 817 police personnel awarded
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, January 25, 2012, 17:42
New Delhi: The Jammu and Kashmir Police and paramilitary CRPF led the gallantry medals tally with 22 and 14 men respectively in the elite list as the government today announced 817 police awards in various categories on the eve of Republic day here.

While the top-notch President's police medal for gallantry has gone to seven officials (three Andhra Pradesh police and 4 CRPF), police medals for gallantry have been awarded to 87 personnel, President's police medal for distinguished service to 93 personnel and police medals for meritorious service have been awarded to 630 police officials.

"38 personnel have been awarded correctional service medals. President's correctional service medal for distinguished service has been awarded to one personnel and correctional service medals for meritorious service have been awarded to 37 personnel," a Home Ministry statement said.

Amongst the other police forces whose personnel won the medals for gallantry include Uttar Pradesh (18), Madhya Pradesh (7), Chhattisgarh (4) and Jharkhand and Karnataka one each.

The Border Security Force (BSF) and Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) won one Police medal each for gallantry while the Indo-Myanmar border guarding force Assam Rifles won four medals for gallant action.


First Published: Wednesday, January 25, 2012, 17:42

comments powered by Disqus