This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

RJD`s momentum can`t be stopped: Lalu Prasad Yadav

Last Updated: Tuesday, February 25, 2014 - 00:37

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: Amidst reports that 13 of his MLAs had revolted against the party and may join the JD(U), RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav smelled a conspiracy and said on Monday that the `momentum` cannot be stopped.

“Lalu posted on the micro-blogging site Twitter - “All told is not true. An unconstitutional conspiracy. RJD`s momentum can`t be stopped this way.”

In a big setback to Lalu just before the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, it was reported today that thirteen Rashtriya Janata Dal MLAs have left the party and may join the JD(U).
These 13 MLAs are said to have written to the Vidhan Sabha Speaker pledging support to Nitish Kumar government.

RJD chief is in the national capital at the moment. He has 22 MLAs in the state Assembly. Lalu was convicted in the Fodder scam last year and was sentenced to five years in jail. At present he is out on bail.

When asked by mediapersons about the split, he sidestepped the matter and said that he had also heard something on similar lines.

On the other hand, talking to reporters, rebel RJD MLA Samrat Chaudhary said that there is no such thing as the RJD left in Bihar. “For the past three months party`s leader is in Delhi. The way he is wooing the Congress, RJD should be merged with the Congress,” he said. All the 13 MLAs are said to have met at the residence of Chaudhary before writing to the Speaker.

“I am with the MLAs who have revolted. We have asked the Speaker that we want to join the JD(U). Let`s see what happens. Whatever, Nitish (Bihar CM) will tell us, we will do,” he added.

However, later accompanied by RJD Legislature party leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui, six of the 13 RJD MLAs told reporters that they did not consciously sign any letter for walking out of RJD and forming a separate group.

Abdul Gafoor claimed that the signature of MLAs were taken for different purposes like raising a matter for call attention motion during the Assembly session.
"I did not sign any letter consciously to leave RJD... A fraud has been committed with me," Gafoor said.

Besides Gafoor, the other MLAs who came to RJD office to deny a split were Lalit Yadav, Faiyyaz Ahmad, Durga Prasad Singh, Chandrasekhar and Akhtar-ul Islam Sahin.

Siddiqui told reporters that a meeting of the RJD Legislature party has been called tomorrow at the residence of former chief minister Rabri Devi at 12 noon where some more MLAs would make their position clear.

With PTI inputs

First Published: Tuesday, February 25, 2014 - 00:37

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus