RS polls: Jethmalani, Mallya win; BJP bags 5 seats

Ram Jethmalani, Anand Sharma, Vijay Mallya & Ram Vilas Paswan are elected to the Rajya Sabha.

New Delhi: Noted lawyer Ram Jethmalani,
Union minister Anand Sharma, liquor baron Vijay Mallya and
LJP supremo Ram Vilas Paswan were elected today to the Rajya
Sabha as biennial polls for 18 seats saw a candidate of the
Congress and an independent backed by it biting the dust.

The BJP finished on top bagging five seats followed by
the Congress four as the Biju Janata Dal made a clean sweep in
Orissa garnering all the three Upper House berths.

The JD (U) got two seats and the JMM, RJD and LJP one

Contrary to speculation that he might face trouble from
a section of BJP MLAs who were opposed to his candidature,
87-year-old Jethmalani won on 41 first preference votes in
Rajasthan. The other party candidate V P Singh also got 41

Anand Sharma and other Congress nominee Ashk Ali Tak
got 51 first preference votes each.

However, Congress-backed Independent Santosh Bagrodia,
a former Union minister, was humbled by a huge margin in
Rajasthan securing only 11 votes against 41 first preference
votes needed for victory.

In Karnataka, ruling BJP virtually joined hands with
estranged coalition partner JD(S) to help independent nominee
Mallya win the election and defeat one of the candidates of
opposition Congress.

Mallya, who had entered the fray with the backing of 27
JD-S MLAs and an independent, won after BJP transferred all
its 120 second preference votes.

BJP`s M Venkaiah Naidu and Ayanur Manjunath were also
declared elected along with former Union minister and Congress
leader Oscar Fernandes.

The Congress which gambled on contesting the second
seat by fielding senior leader T V Maruthi, despite being
fully aware of its lack of strength, suffered a loss of face.

The lone independent nominee, Bangalore-based businessman
B G Uday whose entry prompted the contest, polled just two

In Bihar, Paswan and senior BJP leader Rajiv Pratap
Rudy were among the five candidates who emerged triumphant.

Others who won were Upendra Kushwaha and R C P Singh,
both JD-U, and Ram Kripal Yadav (RJD).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link