This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

RS polls: Nominations of eight candidates accepted

Last Updated: Tuesday, June 18, 2013 - 14:20

Chennai: The nominations of eight candidates, including DMK`s Kanimozhi and CPI`s D Raja, for the June 27 biennial elections to six Rajya Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu, were on Tuesday accepted after scrutiny.

Other accepted nominations were that of AIADMK candidates KR Arjunan, R Lakshmanan, K Thangamuthu, V Maitreyan and T Rathnavel and DMDK`s AR Elangovan, Returning Officer and Tamil Nadu Assembly Secretary A M P Jamaludeen said in a release.

The nominations of five Independent candidates were rejected since they did not comply with the rules.

The last day for withdrawal of nominations is June 20.

Elections, if needed, would be conducted between 9 AM and 4 PM on June 27, he added.

The elections seem headed for a contest following main opposition party DMDK led by actor-turned- politician Vijaykanth entering the fray on the last day of filing nominations yesterday.

Chief Minister Jayalalithaa had yesterday agreed to withdraw the candidature of Thangamuthu who was nominated for the fifth seat, in favour of CPI`s Raja after he called on her seeking support.


First Published: Tuesday, June 18, 2013 - 14:20
comments powered by Disqus