SP sweeps UP, BJP wins Goa, SAD back in Punjab

Samajwadi Party`s victory is stunning given the high-octane battle they had to endure to win India’s politically most important state.

Zeenews Bureau

New Delhi: Riding the cycle of popularity, the father son duo of Mulayam Singh Yadav and Akhilesh Yadav wrested Uttar Pradesh from Mayawati. Their victory is stunning given the high-octane battle they had to endure to win India’s politically most important state. However, the biggest story out of UP is rejection of Rahul Gandhi by the state’s electorate.

However, Congress’ betenoire BJP has more than one reasons to cheer. The saffron party has won a clear majority in Goa and the SAD-BJP alliance is back in power in Punjab.

Manipur has gone the Congress way.
UP results

Putting up its best-ever performance, Samajwadi Party on Tuesday stormed to power in Uttar Pradesh with a stunning majority routing Mayawati-led BSP, the third time a party captured power on its own in the state in two decades.

SP, which was ousted from power in 2007 on law and order issues, avenged its defeat at the hands of BSP which was reduced to 80 seats from 206 five years ago.

The Mulayam Singh Yadav-led party has captured 224 seats in the 403-member.

BJP was placed in third spot with 47 seats while Congress was relegated to fourth place with a tally of 28 seats.

While BJP this time lost four seats from its 2007 tally Congress improved its position marginally from what it was five years ago.

Punjab results

Punjab`s ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) combine on Tuesday attained majority by winning 68 out of total 117 Assembly seats.

Congress, which had announced Amarinder Singh as its Chief Ministerial candidate and was hoping to wrest power after five years, has managed to win 46 seats, while others tasted victory on three seats.

The prominent winners include BJP`s Navjot Kaur from Amritsar East, state Congress chief Amarinder Singh (Patiala), former SGPC president Jagir Kaur, Hockey Olympian Pargat Singh and Punjab BJP president Ashwani Sharma.

Former chief minister and Congress leader Amarinder Singh retained the Patiala seat, defeating SAD`s Surjit Singh Kohli by 42,318 votes.

Uttarakhand results

The results in Uttarakhand was a photo-finish between the Congress and the BJP.

Under the 78-year-old BC Khanduri’s leadership, the BJP got 31 seats, five short of its tally in the last elections, while the Congress emerged as the single largest party with 32 seats in the 70-member assembly.

However, Khanduri`s candidature for chief ministership failed to charm the voters of his own constituency Kotdwar, where he lost to the Congress candidate Surendra Singh Negi by a margin of 4,632 votes.

Goa results

Trouncing Congress out of power in Goa, the BJP-MGP alliance notched victory in the March 3 assembly elections, results for which were declared Tuesday.

The BJP-MGP combine secured 24 seats, while the ruling Congress party managed to win only 9 seats. Others won seven seats, out of which United Goan Democratic Party (UGDP)won 2 seats and remaining five seats have gone to the independents.

BJP leaders who have won include Ganesh Gaonkar from Sanvordem, Mahadev Naik from Siroda, Kiran Kandolkar from Tivim and Anant Shet from Maem. Ramesh Tawadkar and Nilesh Cabral are other party leaders leading from their respective constituencies.

Manipur results

Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh on Tuesday brought the Congress back to power in Manipur for a third consecutive time, winning a simple majority in the 60-member Assembly.

The ruling party has won all the 42 constituencies, whereas the Manipur Peoples Party-led alliance has won only one seat.

Others have won 17 seats. The victors among them include the Naga Peoples Front (NPF), the Trinamool Congress (TMC), the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Manipur State Congress Party.

Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh defeated his nearest rival O Indira of BJP in Thoubal Assembly constituency by over 10,000 votes.