Spectrum scam brings non-Cong, non-BJP parties on one platform
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, November 23, 2010, 23:14
New Delhi: The 2G spectrum scam on Tuesday brought non-Congress and non-BJP parties on a common platform to attack the government for its "reluctance" to constitute a Joint Parliamentary Committee to probe alleged irregularities in allocation of the air waves.

The ten parties met here this evening to formulate a "common strategy to tackle" the UPA on the issue as the government has so far rejected the demand for JPC.

Top leaders of the 10 parties -- CPI(M), CPI, TDP, JD(S), AIADMK, MDMK, AGP, Forward Bloc, BJD and RLD -- put the onus on the UPA to end the impasse in Parliament by constituting a JPC to probe the 2G spectrum scam.

"It is indeed unfortunate that Parliament could not transact any business so far in the current winter session. The UPA and its leader Congress are responsible for this by their refusal to appoint a JPC to probe the massive 2G spectrum scam," CPI(M) Politburo member Sitaram Yechury told reporters here after the meeting.

Terming the scam as the "single largest corruption scandal in independent India," he said JPCs were constituted earlier on corruption scams of smaller dimensions.

"Apart from identifying and nailing the guilty, it is necessary to identify how the system could be so manipulated to result in such a massive scam. Further, on this basis it is necessary to suggest reforms and regulations for the future including for new legislation, if necessary.

"These two objectives cannot be accomplished by any other Parliamentary Committee like the Public Accounts Committee but only by JPC. The UPA government must end the present Parliamentary impasse by constituting a JPC," he said elaborating on the views of leaders at the meeting.

Besides Yechury, the other leaders who attended the meeting included Prakash Karat (CPI-M), Chandrababu Naidu (TDP), Sudhakar Reddy and D Raja (CPI), H D Deve Gowda and H D Kumaraswamy (JD-S), Thambidurai (AIADMK), B P Baishaya (AGP), D Deverajan and Barun Mukherjee (Forward Bloc), Arjun Charan Shetty (BJD), Gunasekhar (MDMK) and Jayant Choudhury (RLD).

Asked whether SP's Mulayam Singh Yadav and RJD's Lalu Prasad were invited, Naidu said he had spoken to Yadav and he conveyed his inability to attend today's meeting.

"I have not spoken to Lalu Prasad as he is busy with elections in Bihar. I have not contacted (BSP's) Mayawati," he said.

Yechury said the leaders expressed "deep anguish and concern at the exponentially growing" cases of corruption in the country like the Commonwealth Games scam and the Adarsh housing scam.

"Likewise, the cases of illegal mining and land grabbing in states like Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka need to be probed and political leadership must be made accountable," he said.


First Published: Tuesday, November 23, 2010, 23:14

comments powered by Disqus