Sulking Yashwant Sinha again left high and dry
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Saturday, August 08, 2009, 20:09
New Delhi: Sulking BJP leader and former Finance Minister Yashwant Sinha has been left high and dry as he has been made just a member of the key Public Accounts Committee (PAC) to be headed by his successor and party colleague Jaswant Singh.

The BJP apparently did not consider Sinha for the chairmanship after he resigned from all posts in the organisation following internal tussle over the party's poor show in the Lok Sabha elections.

Sinha, who had also been External Affairs Minister, has not got Chairmanship of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of External Affairs as also that of Finance. The two posts have been given to Sushma Swaraj and Murli Manohar Joshi respectively.

The PAC, whose term will be upto April 30 next year, has a number of members, including Gopinath Munde, Naveen Jindal and Anandrao Adsul from the Lok Sabha and NK Singh from the Rajya Sabha.

Other members of the committee are Baliram, Khagen Das, Satpal Maharaj, Bhartruhari Mahtab, K Sambasiva Rao, Jitendra Singh (Alwar), Kunwar Rewati Raman Singh, K Sudhakaran, M Thambidurai and Aruna Kumar Vundavalli (all from Lok Sabha).

Rajya Sabha members -- Prasanta Chatterjee, Sharad Joshi, Ashwani Kumar, Shanta Kumar, K Malaisamy and Saif-ud-Din Soz -- will also be part of the committee.

Bureau Report

First Published: Saturday, August 08, 2009, 20:09

comments powered by Disqus