Telangana: Seemandhra Cong MPs move no-confidence motion UPA govt

Last Updated: Wednesday, December 11, 2013 - 02:19

New Delhi: A day after they gave a notice to move a no-confidence motion against the Manmohan Singh government to protest creation of Telangana, the agitated Congress MPs from Seemandhra region Tuesday said they are working on numbers to pull down the "unpopular government".
"We got some MPs supporting us both from Andhra Pradesh and other states. Still, we are working on the numbers," Congress Lok Sabha MP from Vijayawada constituency Lagadapati Rajagopal said.

He was among the six MPs, who had signed the notice to move the no-confidence motion against their own government, in a bid to thwart the tabling of Telangana bill in Parliament.

Noting that the no-confidence motion was "against an unpopular government", Rajagopal said that they were also holding talks with the remaining Seemandhra MPs to muster support for their mission.

"If somebody is not supporting it (no-confidence motion), it reflects on them also. We will see how many more are going to come," he added.
Meanwhile, their counterparts in Telangana have charged that the strategy adopted by Seemandhra MPs was unethical, which was aimed at stopping the process to carve out a separate Telangana state.

"We have spoken to all other parties and they are opposing the no-confidence motion," Ponnam Prabhakar, Congress Lok Sabha member from Karimnagar constituency situated in Telangana region claimed.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Tuesday, December 10, 2013 - 19:29

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus