Google now supports five more Indian languages

Google announced expansion of its translation services to include-Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Tamil & Telugu.

Washington: Internet search engine giant
Google on Tuesday announced the expansion of its translation
services to include five more Indian languages -- Bengali,
Gujarati, Kannada, Tamil and Telugu -- thus increasing its
reach to a potential half a million population.

"Beginning today, you can explore the linguistic
diversity of the Indian sub-continent with Google translate,
which now supports five new experimental alpha languages:
Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Tamil and Telugu," said Ashish
Venugopal, research scientist at Google.

"In India and Bangladesh alone, more than 500 million
people speak these five languages. Since 2009, we`ve launched
a total of 11 alpha languages, bringing the current number of
languages supported by Google Translate to 63," he wrote in a
Google Blog.

Venugopal said one can expect translations for these new
alpha languages to be less fluent and include many more
untranslated words than some of the more mature languages --
like Spanish or Chinese -- which have much more of the web
content that powers its statistical machine translation

"Despite these challenges, we release alpha languages
when we believe that they help people better access the
multilingual web. If you notice incorrect or missing
translations for any of our languages, please correct us; we
enjoy learning from our mistakes and your feedback helps us
graduate new languages from alpha status," the Google research
scientist said.

"Since these languages each have their own unique
scripts, we have enabled a transliterated input method for
those of you without Indian language keyboards," he said and
hoped that the launch of these new alpha languages will help
one better understand the Indic (Indo-Aryan languages) web and
encourage the publication of new content in Indic languages,
taking Google five alpha steps closer to a web without
language barriers.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link