This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

2013 Assembly polls: NCP releases candidates’ list

Last Updated: Saturday, March 17, 2012 - 14:05

Shillong: Nationalist Congress Party leader
Purno Agitok Sangma today released the first list of
candidates for the 2013 assembly elections in Meghalaya.

The NCP National General Secretary announced this at the
inauguration of party headquarters here which was attended
by party MLAs and leaders from across Meghalaya.

"We are coming to power in 2013 and NCP will form a
stable government in the next term," Sangma said.
Stating that Meghalaya has suffered tremendously over the
years due to political instability, the former Lok Sabha
Speaker recalled how, in 2002, 59 out of the 60 MLAs had
become ministers of four different governments in a span of
four years.

"If Meghalaya has to catch up with the rest of the states
in the country and the fast-paced world, we need a stable
government that will last for a term of five years," he said.

Blaming ruling Congress` lack of leadership for the
present state of affairs, Sangma said, "You find factions of
Lapang, Mukul and Prestone in Congress in Meghalaya."
Sangma said his party is the only party in Meghalaya
which has "leadership, unity and is disciplined."

Out of the 14 names released today to contest in the 60
assembly seats, 12 are sitting MLAs which also included his
sons - Leader of Opposition Conrad K Sangma and James K

However, Purno, himself a legislator from Tura in West
Garo Hills district and the name of Deputy Speaker Sanbor
Shullai did not appear in the list.


First Published: Saturday, March 17, 2012 - 14:05
comments powered by Disqus