47 Nagaland candidates lose security deposit

Last Updated: Tuesday, March 5, 2013 - 14:15

Kohima: A total of 47 candidates, including two sitting MLAs, lost their security deposits in the just concluded Nagaland Assembly election.

A candidate losses the security deposit when he/she fails to bag at least one-sixth of the total valid votes polled in the constituency.

Details of the results showed that 15 candidates of the Congress, 14 Independents, 8 nominees each of BJP and NCP and one contestants each of NPF and RJD lost their security deposit, Rs 5000 for each candidate.

Sitting MLAs -- I Imkong of Congress and Er. W. Kithan of NPF -- had their security deposit forfeited from Janpetkong Chandari constituencies respectively.
Another big name in state politics Neiba Ndang, two-time Speaker and NCP state president, also lost his deposit from Tenning.

B Phonsak, independent candidate from Tamlu, got the lowest number of votes --17.

Other candidates who bagged only double digit votes are Sajukha Rengma (NCP - 23) and T Sebu (RJD - 33), both from Tseminyu seat, Yanpansao Lotha (Ind - 29) from Bhandari, Ye-eih Konyak (NCP - 88) and MM Thromwa Konyak (BJP - 92) in Tehok and Lengkong (BJP - 81) from Seyochung Sitimi seat.

Of the two women contestants, Independent candidate Dr Yangerla lost her deposit from Mokokchung Town constituency.

The other women candidate, BJP`s Rakhila Lakiumong from Tuensang Sadar-II seat, however, saved her deposit though she secured the third place.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Tuesday, March 5, 2013 - 14:15

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus