This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Arunachal CM, 10 Congress MLAs win unopposed

PTI | Last Updated: Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 23:36

Itanagar: Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Nabam Tuki and four others won unopposed Wednesday securing 11 seats unopposed for Congress on April 9 assembly elections in the state.

Tuki won unopposed from Sagalee constituency and four others Phurpa Tsering (Dirang), Kameng Dolo (Pakke-Kessang), Nabam Rebia (Doimukh) and Lombo Tayeng (Mebo) secured victory along with seven others in the 60-member assembly.
The results of the uncontested seats would be formally announced on March 26, the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

The number of uncontested seats of the party rose to 11 after scrutiny as the nomination papers of BJP candidate Lhakpa Tsering from Dirang constituency was found invalid, thereby clearing the deck for Congress nominee Phurpa Tsering to get elected unopposed from the constituency, election office sources said here today.
Tourism Minister Pema Khandu (Mukto) and Rural Development Minister Tanga Byaling from Nacho constituency along with Punji Mara (Taliha), Bamang Felix (Nyapin), first- timer Mama Natung (Seppa West) and Takam Pario from Palin constituency in remote Kurung Kumey district have already been elected uncontested as no other candidates filed papers from those constituencies.

Meanwhile, the battle lines for the 60-members state assembly and two Lok Sabha seats in the state have been drawn with 144 candidates for assembly polls and eleven for parliamentary elections remaining in the fray after scrutiny of nominations.

Today was the last day of withdrawing of nominations. The tally of contesting candidates is: Congress (49), BJP (42), NCP (9), People`s Party of Arunachal (16), Naga People`s Front (11), AAP (1), Independents 16.

First Published: Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 23:36
comments powered by Disqus