Arunachal MLAs ask Sonia to nominate CLP leader

40 of the 42 Cong legislators in Arunachal adopted a one-point resolution authorising Sonia Gandhi to appoint a new CLP leader in the state.

Itanagar: Forty of the 42 Congress
legislators in Arunachal Pradesh on Monday adopted a one-point
resolution authorising AICC president Sonia Gandhi to appoint
a new Congress Legislature Party leader in the state.

The resolution was read out to newsmen by AICC observer
and Union Power Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde to reporters.

The party MLAs held a meeting at which Shinde and other
two observers, former DoNER minister BK Handique and party`s
general secretary and state unit in-charge Dhaniram Shandil
were present.

The other two party MLAs are the Speaker and Wangki
Lowang. Lowang did not attend the meeting.

A majority of Congress legislators led by dissident
leader Nabam Tuki have demanded a change in leadership in the
government headed by Garbom Gamlin.

On October 29, both Gamlin and his party rival PCC chief
Tuki had offered to resign from their posts. The AICC
president had met both of them that evening.

The rift between Tuki and Gamlin had become a major issue
dividing the party along ethnic lines in the state with the
majority of Congress MLAs demanding Gamlin`s resignation for
his alleged "authoritarian rule".

Gamlin was sworn in as chief minister on May 5 after the
death of former Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu in a helicopter
crash on April 30.

Besides the Congress, the Trinamool Congress has 5
members, NCP-5, People`s Party of Arunachal 4, BJP-3 besides a
lone Independent in the 60-member House.

The Trinamool Congress and the NCP provide outside
support to the Congress government.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link