Asom Gana Parishad President resigns
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Saturday, May 14, 2011, 20:27
Guwahati: A day after his party's dismal performance in the Assam assembly election, opposition Asom Gana Parishad President Chandra Mohan Patowary on Saturday announced his resignation from the party.

Owning moral responsibility for his party's poor showing, Patowary submitted his resignation papers to the party working President Phani Bhusan Choudhury.

In the just-concluded election, the AGP managed to win only 10 seats compared to Congress' 78 in the 126-member House.

The party suffered humiliation when Patowary himself bit the dust in his home Dharmapur constituency which has been wrested by his Congress opponent and former minister Nilomani Sen Deka.

Opposition leader and two-time former Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, who contested from two constituencies, could manage to win from one in Bahrampur.

The AGP founder-president lost to forest minister Rockybul Hussain in the Samuguri seat.

Immediately after the party's defeat, Mahanta had alleged that victory of the Congress could be possible only because EVMs were tampered with in various strong rooms in connivance with government and police officials, a charge which Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi denied.


Kolkata: Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee is the second sitting chief minister in West Bengal after late Prafulla Chandra Sen to bow out of office after accepting electoral defeat in the state.

Sen, a veteran Congressman and chief minister from July 8, 1962 to March 15, 1967, was defeated by his one-time ministerial colleague Ajay Mukherjee of Bangla Congress at Arambagh assembly constituency in the fourth general election in 1967 by only 881 votes.

In the elections, Congress lost power in the state, paving way for the first United Front government led by Ajay Mukherjee.

In the just-concluded assembly elections, Bhattacharjee of the CPI-M received a severe drubbing from a former chief secretary Manish Gupta of the Trinamool Congress at his Jadavpur constituency and lost the seat he held since 1987 by a wide margin of 16,684 votes.


First Published: Saturday, May 14, 2011, 20:27

comments powered by Disqus