This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Cong names candidate for Hrangturzo assembly seat

PTI | Last Updated: Friday, March 14, 2014 - 15:03

Aizawl: The Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) on Friday announced that Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu, President of the Mizoram Pradesh Youth Congress Committee (MPYCC) would be its official nominee for the by-election to the Hrangturzo assembly seat to be held on April nine.
By-election to the Hrangturzo assembly constituency was necessitated as Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla vacated the seat. La Thanhawla had won from two seats in the state assembly polls held on November 25 last. He retained the Serchhip seat, his home turf.

If elected, Vanlalawmpuii would become the first Mizo woman to be elected to the Mizoram Assembly after a lapse of 27 years.

A Master degree in Political Science and daughter of former Minister C Chawngkuna, Chawngthu has been actively involved in politics for eight years and was mainly in the youth activities.

Earlier, the AICC had announced on Saturday last that C L Ruala, the sitting MP would again contest the election to the lone Mizoram Lok Sabha seat to be held simultaneously on April nine.

First Published: Friday, March 14, 2014 - 15:03
comments powered by Disqus