This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

EC allots symbols of candidates, PA Sangma gets book

PTI | Last Updated: Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 21:49

Shillong: The Election Commission today allotted symbols to candidates contesting in the two Lok Sabha constituencies in Meghalaya, officials said.

Apart from the regular symbols allotted to recognised political parties like the Congress, BJP and CPI, the EC allotted symbols to the United Democratic Party (UDP), a recognised regional party and three Independent candidates, they said.

UDP candidate Paul Lyngdoh was allotted the drum symbol, while the Aam Admi Party candidate was allotted the broom, its usual party symbol.
Three independent candidates Denis Siangshai, Ivory Shylla and P B M Basaiawmoit were allotted a basket containing fruits, television and candles respectively.

The NPP chief P A Sangma who is pitted for a one-to-one battle against Congress candidate Daryl for the Garo Hills seat was awarded the book as its symbol, election department officials said.

Sitting Congress MP from Shillong seat, Vincent H Pala is defending his seat against seven other contenders including BJP candidate S Lyngdoh, CPI candidate R D Shabong and AAP`s A Kharshiing.

Meghalaya goes to the polls on April 9.

First Published: Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 21:49
comments powered by Disqus