This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Election Results 2012: CPI(M) retains Nalchar seat

Last Updated: Friday, June 15, 2012 - 12:57

Agartala: The ruling CPI(M) in Tripura Friday retained the Nalchar assembly seat in Sipahijala district as its candidate won by 4777 votes defeating the Congress candidate in the bypoll, official sources said.
The CPI (M) candidate Tapan Chandra Das secured 18001 votes while his nearest rival from opposition Congress Dwijendralal Majumder got 13,224 votes in the bypoll which was held on June 12, the sources said.

The seat fell vacant following the death of ruling CPI-M, MLA, Sukumar Burman on March 10.
Record 95.93 per cent votes were polled in the Nalchar assembly by-poll held on June 12.

The Nalchar assembly constituency was won six times by the CPI-M and two times by the Congress since Tripura was elevated to the status of a full-fledged state in February 1972.


First Published: Friday, June 15, 2012 - 12:57

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus