LF members, Congress announce candidates for two LS seats in Tripura

Last Updated: Sunday, March 9, 2014 - 15:41

Agartala: Major political parties in Tripura including the ruling Left Front and opposition Congress today announced their party candidates for the two Lok Sabha constituencies which go to poll on April 7 and 12 respectively.

The Congress announced that former Vice-chancellor of Tripura university, Arunoday Saha would contest from West Tripura constituency and another educationist, Sachitra Debbarma would try his luck from East Tripura (ST) seat.

The President of Tripura unit of BJP, Sudhindra Dasgupta would fight from West Tripura seat and party unit vice-president Parikshit Debbarma would contest from East Tripura (ST).

Convener of the Left Front and sitting MP, Khagen Das earlier announced that state Industries and Commerce Minister Jitendra Chowdhuri would contest from the Tripura (East) ST constituency and Shankar Prasad Dutta, former MLA would from the Tripura (West) constituency.
Both the candidates belonged to CPI-M, the dominant partner of the Left Front.

The Trinamool Congress has announced that former Congress Minister and Chairman of the Tripura unit of TMC, Ratan Chakraborty would contest from Tripura West constituency and Bhriguram Reang, a former leader of opposition Congress would from Tripura East constituency.


First Published: Sunday, March 9, 2014 - 15:41

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus