This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Manik Sarkar set for fourth straight term as Tripura CM

Last Updated: Monday, March 4, 2013 - 23:20

Agartala: Manik Sarkar is set for the fourth consecutive term as Tripura chief minister as he was on Monday unanimously elected as the leader of the newly-elected Left Front which won the February 14 polls with a massive mandate.

LF sources said Sarkar`s name was proposed by the Front`s convener and MP Khagen Das in the meeting of newly elected legislators and was agreed upon unanimously.

Sarkar has been the chief minister of the north eastern state since 1998.

Later, Das along with CPI-M state party secretary Bijan Dhar met Governor DY Patil at the Raj Bhavan and informed him that Sarkar was elected as the leader of the LF legislators.

They also handed over a letter comprising the signatures of LF MLAs who have elected Sarkar as their leader, the sources said.

Meanwhile, it was officially announced that the newly elected MLAs would be administered the oath of office and secrecy on March 6 at the Rajbhavan lawns here.


First Published: Monday, March 4, 2013 - 23:20

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus