Meghalaya: 18 Cong MLAs revolt against CM Sangma

Last Updated: Sunday, June 5, 2011 - 10:19

New Delhi: Eighteen of the 28 Congress MLAs in Meghalaya have revolted against Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and demanded immediate change of leadership in the
northeastern state hit by political instability.

"Sangma has lost majority. We want a change of leadership and immediate holding of Congress Legislature Party meeting to elect a new chief minister," Rural Development Minister FW Momin said.

Fifteen rebel MLAs are now camping in Delhi to meet
the Congress high command to apprise the political development
in the hill state while three will arrive here soon, he said.

Momin claimed that six of the nine ministers of the
Mukul Sangma government, including Deputy Chief Minister Rowel
Lyngdoh, have lost confidence in the chief minister and want a
change of leadership.

MLA and political advisor to the chief minister
Sayeedullah Nongrum said a memorandum, signed by all 18 rebel
MLAs, has been submitted to Congress chief Sonia Gandhi urging
her to replace Sangma.

"Sangma`s style of functioning is totally autocratic,
vindicative and he has been involved in rampant corruption
besides hobnobbing with the insurgents," Nongrum alleged.

Sangma sworn in as chief minister on April 20, 2010,
after 21 of the 28 Congress legislators revolted against then
chief minister DD Lapang.

Nine UDP MLAs, two HSPDP MLAs, one KHAM and four
Independent MLAs are part of the Congress-led coalition
government in Meghalaya. 15 MLAs of NCP and one Independent
are in opposition in the 60-member House.

Political instability has been the hallmark of
Meghalaya which saw four chief ministers in the last three
years, during which Lapang held the post for two terms and
Donkupar Roy of the UDP for one term. Sangma`s is the 22nd
government Meghalaya has seen in its 38-year statehood.


First Published: Sunday, June 5, 2011 - 10:19

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus