This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Mohilary elected Bodoland Council chief

Last Updated: Sunday, April 18, 2010 - 17:26

Guwahati: Bodoland Peoples` Front (BPF)
chief Hagrama Mohilary was unanimously elected the leader
of the Bodoland Territorial Council on Sunday for the second
consecutive term after the party swept the just concluded
polls winning 31 of the 40 seats.

Newly elected BPF members met here at the Bodoland
Guest House today to elect its leader and Mohilary was elected
uncontested while Khampa Borgoyary was elected deputy chief of
the Council, party sources said.

A 10-member delegation of the party would later call
on Assam Governor JB Patnaik to stake claim to form the new
Council comprising four districts of Lower Assam.

Two Congress members, Khalilur Rahman and Afzal Haq
Sarkar, who won the elections would also join the ruling BPF
in forming the Council.

The Congress and the BPF are allies in the state
government and the former had entered into a friendly contest
in the just concluded polls winning two seats.

The new Council members would be sworn in on April 23.

The opposition Bodoland Peoples` Progressive Forum
(BPPF) and its ally United Democratic Peoples` Front (UDPF)
won a seat each while four independents also made it to the

The BTC was created after the signing of the Bodo
Accord in December 2003 and an interim Council was formed
subsequently while the first election was held in 2005.


First Published: Sunday, April 18, 2010 - 17:26

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus