This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

NCP petitions Meghalaya Speaker on defection of 11 MLAs

Last Updated: Friday, September 28, 2012 - 17:02

Shillong: The Nationalist Congress Party in Meghalaya on Friday petitioned Assembly Speaker Charles Pyngrope seeking action against NCP legislators who defected to the Nationalist Peoples` Party led by former Lok Sabha speaker P A Sangma.

"We have filed a petition with the Speaker and the Assembly Secretary against 11 legislators of the party for appropriate action against the defectors under the 10th Schedule," Adhoc Committee Convener of the NCP and Deputy Speaker Sanbor Shullai, told reporters.

"As per Section 191(2)/21(a) of the 10th Schedule of the Constitution of India, an elected member cannot defect during his tenure," he said.

The NCP is left with two legislators in its fold after 12 of them merged with the NPP on August 24. One of them subsequently died.

Earlier, the NCP had lodged a complaint with the speaker but it was turned down.

Meanwhile, the speaker said that he was examining the petition filed by the NCP.

According to the speaker, he was yet to receive an official document of the 11 legislators joining the NPP.


First Published: Friday, September 28, 2012 - 17:02
comments powered by Disqus