Opposition Mizoram Democratic Alliance names all common candidates

Mizo National Front (MNF) chief Zoramthanga would contest from Tuipui for assembly election, announced opposition Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA) while releasing name of candidates put by MDA.

Aizawl: Mizo National Front (MNF) chief Zoramthanga would contest from the Tuipui seat for the November 25 assembly election, announced the opposition Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA) which on Monday released the name of all the common candidates put by MDA.
The MDA comprises the MNF, Mizoram People`s Conference (MPC) and the Maraland Democratic Front (MDF).

Zoramthanga, former Mizoram chief minister would contest from the Mizoram-Myanmar border East Tuipui seat in Champhai district, MDA sources said. He would be pitted against the ruling Congress nominee - T Sangkunga, former president of the powerful central committee of the Young Mizo Association (YMA).

Senior Vice President of the MNF Tawnluia would contest from Aizawl South - III seat while Vice President of the party R Tlanghmingthanga would be pitted against the Congress sitting legislator Lt Col Z S Zuala in the prestigious Aizawl South-II seat.

Other prominent contestants included former Lok Sabha member H Lallungmuana who would contest from Tuichang constituency against the Health Minister Lalrinliana Sailo.

Lalhmangaiha Sailo, President of the MPC and son of former chief minister Brig Thenphunga Sailo would be contesting from Aizawl East - I while another MPC top leader and former Speaker Kenneth Chawngliana is contesting from Tuirial seat and former Deputy Speaker Vanlalhlana is contesting from Aizawl North - I seat.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link