PPA formally expels 4 MLAs after they join Cong
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, February 14, 2012, 19:14
Itanagar: Over a month after they joined ruling Congress, the People’s Party of Arunacha (PPA) on Tuesday announced having expelled all the four MLAs from the party for a period of six years.

MLAs Phurpa Tsering of Dirang constituency, Kumsi Sidisow (Thrizino-Buragaon), Takam Pario (Palin) and Markio Tado (Tali) have been expelled due to anti-party activities and breach of party discipline, a PPA release said here on Tuesday.

All the four legislators quit en-bloc on Dec 27 last year to join the Congress, thus taking the strength of the Congress in the state to 46 in the 60-member assembly.

The joining of PPA MLAs had been officially announced by Speaker Wanglin Lowangdong under the provisions of the Tenth Schedule of Constitution and Members of Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground Defection) Rules, 1987.


First Published: Tuesday, February 14, 2012, 19:14

Tag: PPACongressMLA
comments powered by Disqus